Parent PLUS loans at Northeastern University: cost vs the 2026 caps

Since July 1, 2026, parents can borrow at most $20,000 a year and $65,000 in total in Parent PLUS for a dependent student. Here is what that covers at Northeastern University, using federal cost data for 2024–25.

Updated · Based on official sources listed below · How we research

$88,412
cost of attendance per year, 2024–25
$29,060
average net price after grants, 2024–25
$62,912
first-year gap after max federal loans, before grants
$261,648
four-year gap before grants, at a flat cost

The Northeastern funding gap under the 2026 caps

Northeastern University is a private university in Boston, MA with about 17,326 degree-seeking undergraduates. At $88,412 a year, the student’s $5,500 Direct Loan and the $20,000 Parent PLUS maximum leave $62,912 of the first year uncovered before grants and scholarships, and $261,648 over four years.

Borrowing the maximum each year uses up the $65,000 Parent PLUS limit in year 4. Only $5,000 of Parent PLUS is left for the final year, so the year-4 gap of $75,912 is the largest of the four.

Four years at Northeastern, 2024–25 cost of attendance held flat, before grants and scholarships
YearCost of attendanceStudent Direct LoanParent PLUS (max)Gap before grantsPLUS toward $65,000
Year 1$88,412$5,500$20,000$62,912$20,000
Year 2$88,412$6,500$20,000$61,912$40,000
Year 3$88,412$7,500$20,000$60,912$60,000
Year 4$88,412$7,500$5,000$75,912$65,000
4 years$353,648$27,000$65,000$261,648

Gap = cost of attendance − the student’s maximum dependent Direct Loan ($5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500) − the most Parent PLUS allowed ($20,000 a year, $65,000 in total, never more than cost minus other aid). Grants, scholarships, savings and work are not subtracted. Costs for 2026–27 and later will likely be higher than 2024–25.

What Northeastern costs

College Scorecard reports an average cost of attendance of $88,412 for 2024–25. That figure covers tuition and fees, books and supplies, housing, food and other living costs, averaged across students living on campus, off campus and with family. The school’s published components for 2025–26 were:

Component, 2025–26Amount
Tuition and fees$69,289
On-campus housing and food$22,048
Books and supplies$1,000
Other on-campus expenses$1,800

Adding the 2025–26 components gives $94,137 for a student living on campus, $5,725 more than the 2024–25 average. Your aid offer will use the school’s own budget for your year and housing choice.

After grants: the average net price

Most students at Northeastern University do not pay the full cost. In 2024–25, first-time, full-time students who received federal aid paid an average net price of $29,060 a year after grants and scholarships. That is about $59,352 less than the 2024–25 cost of attendance, which is roughly what grant aid was worth to the average aided student.

Even at that average net price, federal loans fall $3,560 short in the first year and $24,240 short over four years if the price stays flat. Average figures hide a wide spread, so the net price for your family can be much higher or lower.

Average net price by family income, 2024–25 (aided first-time students)
Family incomeAverage net priceYear-1 gap after max federal loans4-year gap (flat price)
$0 – $30,000Not reported
$30,001 – $48,000Not reported
$48,001 – $75,000$2,038$0$0
$75,001 – $110,000$11,758$0$0
Over $110,000$49,705$24,205$106,820

Income groups include only students who received federal aid. Families with higher incomes who did not apply for or receive aid typically pay closer to the full cost of attendance. “Gap” assumes the student borrows the maximum Direct Loan and parents borrow the most Parent PLUS allowed.

What Parent PLUS costs to borrow

Parent PLUS loans first disbursed between July 1, 2026 and June 30, 2027 carry a fixed 9.07% rate, and a 4.228% origination fee comes out of each disbursement. A $20,000 loan sends $19,154.40 to Northeastern, so the fee adds $845.60 a year to the gap when you are already at the cap. Borrowing the $65,000 maximum shown above costs about $588 a month over 20 years under the Tiered Standard plan, if Parent PLUS is your only federal loan and you start repaying right away. Run the repayment estimate.

Already enrolled before July 2026?

The caps may not apply yet. If the student was enrolled at Northeastern on June 30, 2026 and a federal Direct Loan (the student’s own or a Parent PLUS) was disbursed for that program before July 1, 2026, parents can keep borrowing up to cost of attendance minus aid for up to three academic years. Those loans still count toward $65,000 afterward. Check with the legacy provision checker.

Ways to close a gap at Northeastern

Run your own numbers

The calculator starts from these figures; replace them with the numbers on your financial aid offer. By default it raises the cost 3% a year and subtracts the 4.228% origination fee, so its totals run a little higher than the flat examples on this page.

Compare: Boston College ($93,039), Boston University ($90,106), Harvard University ($89,279), Emory University ($88,414), Case Western Reserve University ($88,326), or see all 80 colleges.

Frequently asked questions

How much Parent PLUS can I borrow for Northeastern University?

For a loan period starting on or after July 1, 2026, up to $20,000 a year and $65,000 in total per dependent student, shared by both parents, and never more than Northeastern’s cost of attendance minus other aid. With the 2024–25 cost of attendance of $88,412 and the student’s $5,500 first-year Direct Loan, the first-year maximum is $20,000 before any grants.

How big is the funding gap at Northeastern after Parent PLUS?

Before grants and scholarships, about $62,912 in the first year and $261,648 over four years, using the 2024–25 cost of attendance held flat and the maximum student and parent federal loans. At the 2024–25 average net price of $29,060, the four-year gap would be $24,240.

Can my student borrow more federal loans if we hit the Parent PLUS cap?

No. Extra Direct Unsubsidized Loans for a dependent student are available only when a parent cannot get a PLUS loan, usually because of adverse credit. The Education Department has said that reaching the $65,000 limit does not qualify.

Sources

  1. College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education): Northeastern University
  2. NCES College Navigator: Northeastern University (expenses and net price by year)
  3. College Scorecard: data documentation (cost of attendance and net price definitions; data last updated Oct 15, 2026)
  4. Federal Register, 91 FR 23768 (May 1, 2026): Federal Student Loan Program final regulations (34 CFR 685.203)
  5. U.S. Department of Education, "Frequently Asked Questions – Loan Limits" (May 20, 2026), copy published by Washington State University